Media

Press releases, contact information, and resources for press.

Latest Press Release

January 18, 2019

Nationwide student strike puts pressure on German coal commission

18th January, Germany: On Friday more than 25,ooo students in over 50 German cities will strike under the banner “Fridays for Future” to demand that their government initiates an immediate coal phase-out. Students striking from schools and universities will gather outside the Bundestag, town-halls, state parliaments and in marketplaces to deliver their message one week before the government’s coal commission is due to meet to deliver a proposal for the future of coal in Germany.

Independently organised and coordinated the students, inspired by Greta Thunberg‘s weekly school strike in Sweden and the resulting strike movement of young people worldwide, are calling on decision-makers to deliver climate and energy policies to provide the younger generation with a future worth living for.

“Young people, in particular, must now protest for fair climate policy, since ultimately we will be those who are increasingly suffering from the consequences of the climate crisis. What good does it do us to learn for our later life when adults do not even guarantee us a future? That’s why it’s now time to go out on the streets because the climate does not wait until we graduate.” Linus Steinmetz, a 15-year old student in Göttingen

To date, students from dozens of countries such as Australia, Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, the Faroe Islands, Italy, the Netherlands, Nigeria, South Africa, Sweden, Uganda, the UK and the USA have taken part in student strikes in support of ending the use of dangerous fossil fuels, directing finance to scale up solutions, and focusing on a just transition to 100% renewable energy for all.

There are plans for further strike actions in 2019, including a student rally in front of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy in Berlin on Friday 25th January, where the coal commission will be meeting, to demand an immediate coal phase-out to meet Germany’s 2020 climate targets.

“The climate crisis calls for immediate and courageous climate protection policies – but we do not see them. It’s a blow to our generation. We must organize ourselves and together demand that coal and other fossil fuels remain in the ground.” Luisa Neubauer a 22-year old student and co-organizer of the strike in Berlin

New research launched this week shows that it is still possible to safeguard the future and keep global warming below the critical threshold of 1.5°C degrees by immediately halting the expansion of fossil fuel infrastructure and initiating a rapid phaseout of fossil fuel production and use. This means scrapping plans for projects like the Trans Adriatic Pipeline in southern Europe, the MidCat pipeline in France and Spain, and coal mining in Germany which is already the subject of an international petition demanding its closure.

“Since I was a child I’ve heard what the consequences of man-made climate change will be, and yet no one acts consistently. Politicians must act now and immediately initiate a coal exit. That’s more important for my future than a good high school diploma.” Jakob Blasel, an 18-year old student and co-organizer of the strike in Kiel

Contact:

Linus Steinmetz: student spokesman from Göttingen

Tel: +49 176 47769929

linus-steinmetz@web.de

 

Luisa Neubauer: student and organizer of the Berlin strikes

Tel: +49 17649275525

luisa.neubauer@hamburg.de

 

Jakob Blasel: student from Kiel

Tel: +49 1573 3917625

Jakobb@posteo.de

 

Note to editors

Fridays for Future website

You will be able to follow live updates from the student rallies via:

Note: The actions are organized by pupils and students. 350.org is not co-organiser but is helping the students to share their message.

Contacts

Global

Hoda Baraka
Global Communications Director
hoda@350.org
+20 1001840990
Egypt

Alex Rafalowicz
Global Communications Manager
alex.raf@350.org
+57 318 343 9284
Colombia

Claudio Magliulo
Global Communications Manager
claudio@350.org
Italy

Kim Bryan
Global Communications Campaigner
kim.bryan@350.org
+44 777-088-1503
Wales

Nathália Clark
Global Communications Coordinator
nathalia@350.org
+55 61 99137-1229
Brasília, Brazil

Africa

Lerato Ngakane
Africa Arab World Communications Coordinator
lerato.ngakane@350.org
Johannesburg, South Africa

Latin America

 

East Asia

 

Australia

Lou Fraser
Communications Coordinator
350.org Australia
lou@350.org.au
+61 438-993-068
Sydney, Australia

Europe

Melanie Mattauch
Europe Communications Coordinator
melanie@350.org
+49 151 5812 0184
Germany

Pacific

Fenton Lutunatabua
Pacific Campaigner
fenton@350.org
+679 924 7235
Fiji

United States

Thanu Yakupitiyage
U.S. Communications Manager
thanu@350.org
+1-413-687-5160
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Lindsay Meiman
U.S. Communications Coordinator
lindsay@350.org
+1-347-460-9082
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Dani Heffernan
U.S. Communications Coordinator
dani@350.org
+1 (305) 992-1544
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Older Press Releases

FacebookTwitter