Media

Press releases, contact information, and resources for press.

Latest Press Release

December 17, 2018

350.org on New York Governor Cuomo’s first 100 days speech

NEW YORK Today, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo described his priorities for his first 100 days of his third term. Throughout 2018, thousands of New Yorkers took action across the state demanding Cuomo walk the talk on real and meaningful climate action. Today, Cuomo claimed his support for a Green New Deal and for New York’s electricity to be 100% carbon neutral by 2040.

Betámia Coronel, native New Yorker and 350.org US National Organizer, issued the following statement:

“While Governor Cuomo’s words of support for climate action are welcome, empty rhetoric and lip service is as dangerous as inaction. If he’s serious about a Green New Deal for New York, Cuomo will take concrete action now to stop all fossil fuel projects, including fracked gas pipelines like the proposed Williams Pipeline and dirty power plants wreaking havoc on our communities.

“Passing the Climate and Communities Protection Act and investing in communities on the frontlines of climate change would make a Green New Deal for New York a reality. From hard-won solar co-ops to fossil fuel divestment and reinvestment in good, union jobs, the solutions toward a 100% renewable economy already exist. Throughout his first 100 days and beyond, we’ll do whatever it takes to hold Cuomo accountable to walk the talk and truly make New York a beacon of progressive action for climate justice.”

###

Contact: Lindsay Meiman, lindsay@350.org, (347) 460-9082

 

Contacts

Global

Hoda Baraka
Global Communications Director
hoda@350.org
+20 1001840990
Egypt

Alex Rafalowicz
Global Communications Manager
alex.raf@350.org
+57 318 343 9284
Colombia

Claudio Magliulo
Global Communications Manager
claudio@350.org
Italy

Kim Bryan
Global Communications Campaigner
kim.bryan@350.org
+44 777-088-1503
Wales

Nathália Clark
Global Communications Coordinator
nathalia@350.org
+55 61 99137-1229
Brasília, Brazil

Africa

Lerato Ngakane
Africa Arab World Communications Coordinator
lerato.ngakane@350.org
Johannesburg, South Africa

Latin America

 

East Asia

 

Australia

Lou Fraser
Communications Coordinator
350.org Australia
lou@350.org.au
+61 438-993-068
Sydney, Australia

Europe

Melanie Mattauch
Europe Communications Coordinator
melanie@350.org
+49 151 5812 0184
Germany

Pacific

Fenton Lutunatabua
Pacific Campaigner
fenton@350.org
+679 924 7235
Fiji

United States

Thanu Yakupitiyage
U.S. Communications Manager
thanu@350.org
+1-413-687-5160
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Lindsay Meiman
U.S. Communications Coordinator
lindsay@350.org
+1-347-460-9082
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Dani Heffernan
U.S. Communications Coordinator
dani@350.org
+1 (305) 992-1544
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Older Press Releases

FacebookTwitter