Media

Press releases, contact information, and resources for press.

Latest Press Release

November 12, 2018

350.org on California wildfires and need for climate action

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

350.org on California wildfires and need for climate action

Oakland, CA — As wildfires in California worsened by climate change sweep through communities, causing hundreds of thousands of people to evacuate, taking the lives of at least 31 people so far, environmentalists are calling for sweeping action on climate change to curb worsening impacts of the crisis. Meanwhile, Donald Trump is drawing outrage from those on the frontlines as he blames the deadly wildfires on “poor” forest management.

In response, May Boeve, 350.org Executive Director, said:

“California wildfires happen year-round now because of worsening drought and the impacts of climate change. As Trump makes a mockery out of this destruction to prop up big oil, our communities pay the costs through our homes, lives and livelihoods. We don’t just need thoughts and prayers, we need real climate action to keep fossil fuels in the ground and transition to 100% renewables for all.”

###

Contact: Dani Heffernan, dani@350.org, +1 305 992 1544 and Thanu Yakupitiyage, thanu@350.org, +1 413 687 5160

Contacts

Global

Hoda Baraka
Global Communications Director
hoda@350.org
+20 1001840990
Egypt

Alex Rafalowicz
Global Communications Manager
alex.raf@350.org
+57 318 343 9284
Colombia

Kim Bryan
Global Communications Campaigner
kim.bryan@350.org
+44 777-088-1503
Wales

Claudio Magliulo
Global Communications Manager
claudio@350.org
Italy

Africa

Lerato Ngakane
Africa Arab World Communications Coordinator
lerato.ngakane@350.org
Johannesburg, South Africa

Latin America

Nathália Clark
Brazil and Latin America Communications Coordinator
nathalia@350.org
+55 61 99137-1229
Brasília, Brazil

East Asia

Marie Tanao
Japan Communications Coordinator
marie.tanao@350.org
+81-90-2183-2113
Tokyo, Japan

Australia

Lou Fraser
Communications Coordinator
350.org Australia
lou@350.org.au
+61 438-993-068
Sydney, Australia

Europe

Melanie Mattauch
Europe Communications Coordinator
melanie@350.org
+49 151 5812 0184
Germany

Pacific

Fenton Lutunatabua
Pacific Campaigner
fenton@350.org
+679 924 7235
Fiji

United States

Thanu Yakupitiyage
U.S. Communications Manager
thanu@350.org
+1-413-687-5160
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Lindsay Meiman
U.S. Communications Coordinator
lindsay@350.org
+1-347-460-9082
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Dani Heffernan
U.S. Communications Coordinator
dani@350.org
+1 (305) 992-1544
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Older Press Releases

FacebookTwitter