Media

Press releases, contact information, and resources for press.

Latest Press Release

July 12, 2018

New Yorkers join “Cuomo’s Dunkirk Fleet” demanding he walk the talk on climate

On water outside Billy Joel fundraiser, dozens demand Governor Cuomo move #OffFossilFuels to a #FossilFree New York ahead of September’s Global Climate Action Summit

Photo credit: Jamie Tyberg, New York Communities for Change

More photos available here

Long Island, NY — Over a dozen New Yorkers took to the water for the #WeSeaYouCuomo action this evening, kayaking outside Billy Joel’s fundraiser for Governor Andrew Cuomo and demanding the Governor walk the talk on real and immediate action on climate. Organizers are part of a state-wide movement demanding Cuomo halt all new fracking projects, commit to 100% renewables, and make polluters pay for their destruction.

“Tonight the progressive movement took to the sea to demand that Cuomo rejects fossil fuels, once and for all. With signs of a deepening climate crisis all around us – especially here on our shorelines – it’s time for Cuomo’s empty rhetoric on fossil fuels to end and real action toward 100 percent clean, renewable energy to begin,” said Alex Beauchamp, Northeast region director at Food & Water Watch.

Participating organizations include Food & Water Watch, New York Communities for Change (NYCC), 350.org, Sunrise NYC, NY Renews, Sane Energy Project, Fossil Free, and Greenpeace USA, represent thousands of New Yorkers across the City and State.

Photo credit: Laura Shindell, Food & Water Watch

The #WeSeaYouCuomo action took place the same day news broke that NRG Energy will abandon its Cuomo-brokered plans to transition the old Dunkirk power plant from coal to fracked gas. Also today, Ireland became the first nation in the world to divest its investments in fossil fuels.

This comes just two months ahead of September’s Global Climate Action Summit where local and non-state officials are expected to make climate action commitments. Across the U.S. and around the world, tens of thousands of people will Rise for Climate, Jobs, and Justice calling on elected officials and decision-makers to take meaningful and immediate action for a fossil free world with: (1) no new fossil fuel projects; (2) 100% renewables now; and (3) not a penny more for dirty energy.

Photo credit: Laura Shindell, Food & Water Watch

###

Contact: Lindsay Meiman, 350.org, lindsay@350.org, (347) 460-9082

Seth Gladstone, Food & Water Watch, sgladstone@fwwatch.org

Contacts

International

Hoda Baraka
Global Communications Director
hoda@350.org
+201001840990
Egypt

Claudio Magliulo
Global Communications Manager
claudio@350.org
Italy

Africa

Lerato Ngakane
Africa Arab World Communications Coordinator
lerato.ngakane@350.org
Johannesburg, South Africa

Latin America

Nathália Clark
Brazil and Latin America Communications Coordinator
nathalia@350.org
+55 61 99137-1229
Brasília, Brazil

East Asia

Marie Tanao
Japan Communications Coordinator
marie.tanao@350.org
+81-90-2183-2113
Tokyo, Japan

Australia

Lou Fraser
Communications Coordinator
350.org Australia
lou@350.org.au
+61 438-993-068
Sydney, Australia

Europe

Melanie Mattauch
Europe Communications Coordinator
melanie@350.org
+49 151 5812 0184
Germany

Pacific

Fenton Lutunatabua
Pacific Campaigner
fenton@350.org
+679 924 7235
Fiji

United States

Thanu Yakupitiyage
U.S. Communications Manager
thanu@350.org
+1-413-687-5160
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Lindsay Meiman
U.S. Communications Coordinator
lindsay@350.org
+1-347-460-9082
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Dani Heffernan
U.S. Communications Coordinator
dani@350.org
+1 (305) 992-1544
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Older Press Releases

FacebookTwitter